[INTRO2FAB] WK2 FLOOR TO CRADLE

TASK : Make multiples of something, 5 or more.
The objects must be a multi-process piece.
(NOT 5 things made solely on the laser cutter or 3D printers).

1. Inspiration
A. I wanted cost-efficient on the product. “Cost-efficient” meaning, Low cost at high Wow effect.
B. I found nice pieces of ITP Floor which has a coated side.
C. I wanted to make something small that I can make out of the floor piece.
D. I thought of three things: chopsticks, desk tray and cradle for the smartphones.
I wanted to make the desk tray but the router cannot achieve the hollow shape, so I decided to make the smartphone cradle.

2. PLAN
A. Trim the pieces at the edge.
B. Make a route at the body.
C. Chop the pieces like a loaf of a bread.
IMG_0642

3. Execution
A. [Machine Saw] I cut the two ends of the pieces.
IMG_0609

B. [Machine Saw, Band Saw/ Not Recommended] I used the band saw to trim the longer edges and it was inaccurate. So I unconsciously used the machine saw to trim the longer edge which alert shop staff. Later found I could’ve used some buffer or custom jig.

C. [Machine Saw] After Trimming, I cut the trimmed pieces in to five which should’ve done after routing. After realizing the danger from the previous experience, I just wanted to finish the process related to the machine saw first. The small piece at the right is for the test.
IMG_0612

D. [Router] First, I screw little bit of the bolt under the blue plate to eliminate the bump from the class. Now, I set the height of the router bit. I wanted to cut the route at twice so I set for the lower height.
IMG_0613

E. [Router] I measured the two end distances of the guide to make it straight. Also I plug in the vacuum cleaner hose to the table. Now I needed parts that can push forward, press the side and press the material down.
IMG_0614  IMG_0619

F. [Router] I cut five first and second to achieve optimal depth of the route. It was difficult to push forward the pieces because the guide on the right has a break at the center for the vacuum cleaner. As I am pushing forward the pieces I found this bump annoying and blocking. Since the particles cut from the wood is flying to forward not to the vacuum, it will be better to have a solid guide. However, the router achieved the optimal height of the route.
IMG_0621  IMG_0622

G. [Drill Press] After placing the smartphone I recognized the need of the holes for the sound flow. So I drilled two holes at the bottom so that it can have a better sound.
IMG_0630  IMG_0627

H. [Sander Machine/ Sand Paper] I sanded the edges and surfaces of the cradle.
IMG_0632  IMG_0635

I. [Drill Press] I wanted to elaborate more on the products. So I drilled hollow shape to make sound flow better and to mark the number 00X/ 00X on the back.
1O3A0004  IMG_0637

4. Completion
1O3A0039

1O3A0038

3 thoughts on “[INTRO2FAB] WK2 FLOOR TO CRADLE

  1. Pingback: A cradle from a piece of ITP floor | doyoki.com

  2. These look great.

    Good use of material and I like that you had an extra small piece specifically for testing.

    Your difficulty with the opening for the vacuum on the router table can actually be solved. The white walls can be adjusted so there is a smaller (or no) gap.

    I’m not sure what you meant when you wrote that the router “couldn’t achieve the hollow shape” for the desk tray. Let me know if you want to discuss that.

    Like

    • Yeap, I couldn’t achieve the hollow shape with the regular router, where as it would be possible with the CNC router which can jump into the center, not breaking the any side wall. I thought of making 4 drill holes at the corners and use router but I was not sure whether it would be safe enough and not flying the wood out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

