[LIVE WEB] Final, Fistbump!

 

SYNC

1. BACKGROUND

I wanted to make a new way of chatting that people keep talking and overlap their voices over the other. And I named it as the drunken chat for the midterm because it might convey the idea of overlapping voices when you are drunk.

Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 12.01.04 PM

2. DEVELOPMENT

So, from the midterm I had this need of ID because it is an essential feature of chatting. Aside from the ID, during the course of liveweb, I was introduced with the video and the audio which changed the thought process. Also in terms of data ownership the p2p ID generation is very clear, it is data-free(no data stored).

 

20160501_211924

3. User Test

First I wanted to have the functional completion. I chat with the friend in France and it proved the P2P is possible World-Wide and during this test I learned the lesson that in terms of video chatting, the video should go with the audio. However, in terms of drunken chat, the audio and video are constraints because it breaks the need of word bubble. So, I muted the audio and shrank the size of the video. I conceptualized it as an on-air kind sign of the broadcasting.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 13.02.48Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 17.03.11Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 17.07.24

 

4. Design/Naming

I had a hard time struggling with the design and colors. At the end of the design, I made the design more seamless and made it more crisp by shadow. Also as I design the div I thought of the matching word bubbles as the fistbump. So I made a logo looks like a fist-bump.

5. Future Modification

From the start, users’ expectation were clear. They wanted sign-up. Sign-up as the regular chatting apps might be essential feature of the chatting. So, in near future, it needs to have sign-up page, queuing/lists of contacts. Introducing p2p, data-free, audio and video liquefied somewhat the idea of matching word bubbles. So, I might have to slim down to core concept and consider also multiple users chatting room.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 01.51.16

Link to the final: https://dyk286.itp.io:8080/index3.html

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

